Skip to content ↓

Local Governing Bodies

Governors oversee the management of an academy, including its strategy, policy, budgeting and staffing.

Local Governing Body Constitution:

  • At least six Foundation Governors appointed by the Archbishop (or as many more are required to ensure that the number of Foundation Governors exceeds the number of all other Governors by at least 2.)
  • One Foundation Governor position must be made available to the Parish Priest
  • One member of staff
  • Two Parent Governors
  • The Headteacher

Governors are responsible for:

  • Planning the overall vision and direction of the academy
  • Ensuring the core purpose of the MAC is delivered to the highest standard
  • Overseeing the financial probity and performance of the school
  • Overseeing MAC policy implementation and organisational compliance, e.g. Safeguarding, Health & Safety, Catholic mission
  • Holding the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team to account

Establishing the following Committees or Representatives:

  • Catholic Ethos and Mission Committee/Representative
  • Finance and Audit Committee/Representative
  • Pay and HR Committee/Representative
  • Estates, Safeguarding and Health & Safety Committee/Representative
  • Education Standards Committee/Representative

Governors are accountable to:

The Directors for educational outcomes, compliance and the Catholic education and ethos of the academy.

School Chair of Local Governing Body Term of Office Type of Governor
Blessed George Napier, Banbury James O'Neill 22/05/2019-21/05/2023 Foundation
Greyfriars Catholic School, Oxford Mick Quigley 01/11/2021 - 31/10/2025 Foundation
Holy Trinity, Chipping Norton Pauline Brookes 18/9/2022-17/9/2026 Foundation
Our Lady of Lourdes, Witney Carlton Rose  17/01/2022-16/01/2026 Foundation
Our Lady's, Cowley Paul Concannon 18/1/2021-17/1/2025 Foundation
St John Fisher, Littlemore John Allen 18/03/2022 - 19/03/2026 Foundation
St John's, Banbury Róisín Phillips 07/02/2023-31/03/2024 Foundation

St Joseph's, Banbury

Sarah Sienkiewicz

15/07/2022-14/07/2026 Foundation
St Joseph's, Carterton Ian Courtney 01/08/2022-31/07/2023 Board Appointed IGB Chair
St Joseph's, Thame Sue McGarry 6/6/2020-7/6/2024 Foundation
St Thomas More, Kidlington  Sofia Massa 17/01/2020-16/01/2024 Foundation

You can find our more about our Local Governing Bodies by visiting their websites: